Fishing implements distribution and sensitization of tribal fishers of Sagar Island

Mr. Bankim Hazra, MLA, Sagar, West Bengal inaugurated the sensitization programme in Manasadweep Village of Sagar Island on scientific fish farming in unutilized/derelict waterbodies on 8.11.2018. ICAR-CIFRI is working in 3 villages of sagar islands and more than 100 tribal fishers from these villages participated in this sensitization programme. Dr. B. K. Das, Director, ICAR-CIFRI sensitized the tribal fishers of Sagar Island on scientific fish culture in derelict / unutilized water bodies. He clarified the fisher’s doubts on scientific fish farming and advised the fishers to save some amount of money from the profit out of fish farming to be used as input in the next year. Dr. Das assured the fishers to provide continuous technical support from ICAR-CIFRI. He also emphasized to create a cadre of self employed "Matsya Mitra" to provide technical assistance to the fish farmers of sagar islands. ICAR-CIFRI will provide the capacity building training to Matsya Mitras at CIFRI HQ in Barrackpore. Mr. Bankim Hazra, MLA, Sagar thanked ICAR-CIFRI for the support rendered by the Institute for the livelihood development of tribal fishers through fish farming in Sagar Islands. Mrs. Anita Maity, Panchayat Pradhan along with other dignitaries from Sagar block graced the occasion and mentioned the activities undertaken by ICAR-CIFRI in Sagar Island. ICAR-CIFRI distributed fishing nets (10 nos of cast nets) to the tribal fishers of Sagar Islands. Dr. P. K. Parida, Nodal Officer, TSP along with his team Mr C N Mukherjee and Mr. Sujit Choudhury coordinated the sensitization programme.





This website belongs to ICAR-Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, an autonomous organization under the Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Government of India. Copyright @ 2010 ICAR, This website is developed & maintained by Agricultural Knowledge Management Unit.
2016 Last updated on 23/08/2017