About Us

Inland Fisheries Society of India (IFSI) is dedicated to promoting the cause of inland fisheries in the country. It is a well recognized scientific forum, registered under the West Bengal Society Act XXVI of 1961 and came into being in 1969 at Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, Barrackpore. It is one of the leading scientific societies in India.

The society was honored when it's Founder President, Dr. V. G. Jhingran, Former Director (1966-1979), Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, Barrackpore was awarded the prestigious Padma Sri in 1977 by the Government of India, besides, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Memorial Award for the biennium 1972-73, S. L. Hora medal in 1978 and the Chandra Kala Hora Memorial Award for the period 1975-1980. Dr. Jhingran represented the country in several international forums and acted as FAO Consultant on Aquaculture in Sri Lanka, World Bank Consultant in Aquaculture II for Agricultural Research in Indonesia, Adviser for Aquaculture Development for the Government of Guyana, Asian Development Bank Consultant in Laos and UNDP/FAO Chief Technical Advisor for Africa.

Dr. V. G. Jhingran (Founder President)

He breathed his last at Dehradun on 15th January, 1991. From the modest beginning the Society has grown to a size of having 442 Life Members, 43 Annual Members, 17 Institutional Members and 68 Fellows today. The Society regularly brings out a journal, 'Journal of the Inland Fisheries Society of India' publishing original research work and invited review articles related to all aspects of inland fish and fisheries. The Journal has a wide circulation of about 500 copies in India and abroad. The Society also publishes monographs and books on specialized subjects on inland fisheries for dissemination of fisheries science in the country and abroad. The Society also offers opportunities for infusing new interest in fisheries by organizing scientific meetings, symposia, seminars, workshops and lectures besides offering fellowships 'Fellow of the Inland Fisheries Society of India' (FIFSI) to eminent workers in recognition of their significant contribution for development of fisheries in the country.

The Registered office of the Society is located at Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute Barrackpore and the Director of the Institute is the defacto President of the Society.

Office Bearers
Advisory Board
  Dr. S. Ayyappan  Dr.(Mrs.) B. Meenakumari Dr. S. A. H. Abidi
  Dr. Dilip Kumar Dr. M. Sinha Dr. K. K. Vass
  Prof. N. C. Datta
Dr. B. B. Jana Dr. G Syda Rao.
  Dr. A. G. Ponniah Dr.W.S. Lakra Dr. P. C. Mohanta
  Dr. J. K. Jena    
Executive Committee
  President Prof. A. P. Sharma, Director, CIFRI, Barrackpore
  Vice-President Dr. P. Das, Former Director NBFGR, Lucknow
Dr. M. K. Das, Pr. Scientist & Head FREM, CIFRI, Barrackpore
  Secretary Dr. N. P. Shrivastava, Ex-Pr. Scientist, CIFRI, Barrackpore
  Jt. Secretary Dr. Srikanta Samanta, Pr. Scientist, CIFRI, Barrackpore
  Treasurer Mr. S. K. Sahu,   Scientist SG.Grade, CIFRI, Barrackpore
  Business Manager Dr. (Mrs) A.M. Sajina, Scientist
Editorial Board
  Prof.  Mohammad Rezaul Hassan (Italy)     Dr.  Brij  Gopal (India)
  Prof. (Mrs.) Remedios B. Bolivar (Philippines)    Dr. N. C. Datta (India)
  Dr. M.V. Gupta (India)
  Dr. V. V. Sugunan (India)
  Dr.(Miss) Rina Chakrabarty(India)    Dr. Ram Kumar (India)
      Dr. R. K. Sinha (India)
Dr. V. R. Suresh , Principal Scientist
Dr. M. K. Das, Pr. Scientist, Dr. S. K. Manna, Sr. Scientist, Dr. Arun Pandit, Sr. Scientist,
Dr. R. K. Manna , Sr. Scientist Dr. Firoz Khan, Scientist SG Dr. Sajina, A. M. Scientist
  Dr. Utpal Bhaumik    Mrs. G.K. Vinci
  Dr. M. K. Mukhopadhyay   Dr. M. L. Bhoumik
  Dr. Amitabha Ghosh
  Dr. B. N. Pal

Home | About Us | Publication | Activities | Membership | Contact Us
All ©Copyrights are reserved to IFSI.
Site Developed and Designed by Digitron Systems.